top of page





Saturday 4th - Saturday 25th March 2023


10:00 am – 3:00 pm. Tuesday to Saturday

We are delighted to present our 5th Annual Open Art Exhibition and are pleased to announce that the exhibition will take place at our new premises, Studio 40. 

Our annual Open competition is open to anyone and is a celebration of art and craft from artists and makers throughout Wales and beyond. The selected works from the submissions will be shown in the Gallery’s ground floor and first floor room 2 spaces.

Three prize-winners are selected from the exhibited entries each year, with a first prize of a solo exhibition at the gallery, second prize of £100 and a third prize of £50, plus a People’s Choice prize of a £25 art voucher. The winners will be announced on the day of the opening on Saturday 4th March. With the People’s Choice prize winner being announced at the end of the exhibition. 

The selection is made by a changing panel of invited selectors each year, thus encouraging various viewpoints. This year, the judges were - fine artists, Maria Pierides, Patti McKenna, Neale Howells and fine artist/ceramicist Thomasin Toohie.


The competition provides a great opportunity for contemporary artists to experiment with new work and fresh ideas, combining traditional skills with creative originality. We received a host of impressive entries again this year and we are delighted to share a selection of the winners and selected entries with you on our video of the exhibition which is showing at our gallery in Queen Street.

We hope you will enjoy browsing the exhibition online, if you are interested in purchasing any of the work, please contact the gallery.

This year’s exhibitors are -

Alec Lewis, Amanda Puleston, Andie Dale, Carol Ross, Catherine Hiles, Ceri Donovan, Cerys Knighton, Colin Barfoot, Colin Davies, Conway Rowland, David Robinson, David Williams, Delyth Williams, Doug Price, Elaine McLennan Topping, Emma  Pughsley, Fiona Stevens, Fran Rushworth, Francesca Grice, Gareth Davies, Graham Parker, Hannah Madgwick, Heather Littlejohns, Hilary Bryanston, Janet Chaplin, Jean Wanklyn, Jessica Davies, Jo Payne, John Edwards, Jon Mewett-Mayer,  Karen Pendry, Katheryn Moore, Marissa Weatherhead, Maureen Carlson, Melanie Fritz, Michaela Hollyfield, Nina Camplin, Paul ap Rhys, Paul Lewis, Paul Steer, Paula Farebrother, Phil Thomas, Phillip Alder, Rachel Jones, Robert Harrison, Robin Paisey, Rosemary Buswell, Sandra Wintle, Steve Roe, Susan Strange, Thane Macdonald, Tracey Lewis and Veronica Flynn.

Congratulations to the winner's - first place went to Heather Littlejohns for 'Avalanche', second place went to Katherine Moore for 'First Light'and 3rd place went to Phil Thomas for 'Over fungi in Cwm'. Highly commended were - David Williams, Marissa Weatherhead, Graham Parker, Jon Mewett-Mayer and David Robinson.

A big thankyou to all our contestants, we really appreciate your taking part and wish you every success in all your future artistic endeavours.

bottom of page